A New Year Ahead

Let me start off by start off by saying I know how late into the month is to still sit here and talk about moving into a new year. I think being punctual is something I should start working on (I used to be good a it, not sure what’s happening now). Happy New Year! I hope everyone enjoyed their holidays and rang in the new year the best way they know how.

I ended up spending the majority of December in New York and New Jersey with my friends and family. I went to work the entire time, stayed with my sister for a week and then Lorenzo came up and we stayed at a hotel for the remainder of the trip. I got to see my girlfriends, found out one of them is pregnant (yay!) and spent a little time with my coworkers (who all seem to think that no matter how much time I spend up there, that its never long enough. Aren’t they sweet?).

nyc

View of 6th Ave, NYC

 

Normally when I’m there, I like to do the major touristy stuff: go to Rockefeller Center to see the tree, go to Macy’s to see the Christmas displays, etc., but this time I took Lorenzo to see the Rockettes at Radio City Music Hall. It was a first for me as well, and since I found the tickets on sale I thought it was ideal. Lorenzo said he enjoyed the show (even though I could have sworn I caught him sleeping). Anyway, I decided that I wasn’t going to make any resolutions this year, because I always make too many that I NEVER keep because I always forget what they are. I usually say stuff like “I’m going to stop cursing this year,” and not even 30 minutes later I’m dropping F-bombs like nobody’s business. Or “I’m going to read more” and then that ends up being the semester that my teachers want me to write my own text book. So, its safe to say I’m done with resolutions.

rockefeller-center

Christmas Tree at Rockefeller Center

 

Lorenzo and I will be moving at the end of the month, a temporary relocation until we can find something else. We are looking at homes so hopefully by the end of the year, or maybe the summer, we will homeowners. This is something I think is actually achievable, A) because I know how thorough Lorenzo is when he wants to do something and how determined I am when I have a goal and B) because we’ve already been looking since last year and we now have a realtor to help out.

Lorenzo always entertains the idea of moving to New York, much to my protest. He feels like, if he finds a job there then we should definitely go (especially since my job is already there). I always protest because I’m from NJ, I’ve spent over 30 years there and over 8 working in New York City…I’m pretty  much over shoveling my car out of 4 feet of snow in the winter. I will take an Atlanta “snowstorm” any day. Hell, its the middle of January and it was 70 degrees the other day! Are you kidding me? So what I do to try to deter him is, whenever we are looking up houses online I will take the price of a home in Atlanta and then take that same dollar amount and show him what he could get in any of the 5 Boroughs. It always gives him a slight reality check…temporarily.

I am curious to see what this year will bring. I will hit 18 years with the Army in a few months (I shake my head in disbelief every time I think about it). I really want to try to get promoted one more time before I retire. I also want to do another 5K this year. I think my job has one, so I may have to fly back up to participate. Maybe I’ll do more than one this year. I won’t be finished with school this year, but I’m going to keep going until I’m done, no matter how long it takes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A New Year Ahead

  1. Good luck house hunting. It’s equal part thrilling and terrifying. 🙂 I’m with you on living in NJ/NY. Never AGAIN. I don’t mind the snow and the cold but it’s so damn expensive for what? To be on top of your neighbors and sitting in obnoxious traffic every day of your life? No thank you.

    I say go for the promotion! Tim is on the E-9 or die plan. I made that up…it’s catchy. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank Jen! Lorenzo is so picky about houses I don’t understand why he thinks he could live in NY/NJ. Its SOOO congested and expensive. But he’s convinced…oh well. I think I’m on the “Get this E8 or get on with your life” plan LOL. I won’t even be upset if I don’t get it this year. It’ll just be my indicator that its time to go. I think I’ll write about that next….

      Like

Leave a Reply

