I REALLY Have to Stop Watching Reality TV

Working from home can be a blessing and a curse. Many people that I talk to, including my co-workers, tell me how they would so bored and don’t think they could do it every day. I enjoy it despite the fact that I’m alone most of the day and that I’m not getting an opportunity to network with people in Atlanta. But, I look at it like this: I could still be at my old job, hating my life (this is usually the part where I get over it).

My co-workers sometimes call me and tease me about watching television all day, you know: soap operas, Maury, and The Price is Right (yes, that show is STILL on tv). I don’t watch those shows, but I have found myself watching some of the reality shows like Love and Hip Hop and Real Housewives for example (don’t judge me). Some of these shows are in their 4th and 5th seasons already so that just lets you know that I am SO lost as to what is going on and who is who.

I’ve never watched these show before because I had no interest in them. It just seemed like a bunch of people who don’t like each other making time to hang out with each other and when they get together all they do is fight. Once the fight is over, they go home and talk about each other, come back together to “work it out” or “clear the air” and either forgive each other for the time being, or they start fighting again. It’s just a vicious cycle that keeps looping over and over again. I get tired for them. Who wants to do all that fighting? What’s worse, is that it all seems so fake. I just refuse to believe that some of them are as idiotic as they portray themselves to be.

When I deployed, I made an agreement with myself that I would stop worrying about things that didn’t directly affect me. This meant  I had to learn to stop trying to control what others did, and what they thought and said about me. When I came home, I had to cut certain people out of my life to make it happen, and it has been a bit more peaceful ever since. These reality shows remind me of the people who I had to get rid of: just over dramatic for no reason. What’s worse is that some of them are older than I am! Have they not found out how to communicate with people in a way that is honest, without making assumptions or jumping to conclusions? It seems like they all get so offended over everything, literally, EVERYTHING. But I guess the drama makes for good ratings?

I’m just glad that football season has started so now I can watch the NFL Network instead. But I still think they all need to read The 4 Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz. Great book, it helped me realize a great deal about my actions towards others and how I should take information as well. It made me want to think about how I want to react to things that other people say and do. Just a suggestion.

bigstock-reality-tv-7107918

photo credit

Leave a Reply

