Visiting Jersey

I just spent the last 2 weeks in Jersey, and this week went by so fast that I didn’t realize today was already Thursday. I went on a business/leisure trip. It was a business trip because I still had to go to work, but it was also a leisure trip because I was able to spend time with family also. I stayed with my sister Morgan the Mom, so that I could maximize the amount of time I had with my nieces. This attempt was almost a failure because there were some days I got home so late they were already in bed when I arrived (Morgan does not play when it comes to bed time).

IMG_71441

Lorenzo didn’t come with me because he had a military school he had to attend but I am hoping that he can come the next time I go to visit. I thought 2 weeks was going to be enough time to spend with everyone but I was clearly mistaken. As soon as I got there, some people were asking when I was going to move back up north (I’m not, it’s too cold) and by the time I was ready to leave the conversations were, “Leave? You JUST got here! Has it been two weeks already? So when are you coming back?” They are so sweet.

I work in New York City, so I had to learn to embrace the commute. Let’s just say I did NOT miss it but I was grateful for it. All the walking I did is what probably helped me stay in shape for so long. I moved to Georgia, stopped walking, and gained about 20 lbs. in less than 6 months. But even with all that walking, all the food I ate probably didn’t help, but that is neither here nor there. The company also moved earlier this year so I had to walk another 2 blocks just to get to our new location. The office is located in Rockefeller Center and they just moved to another building in the area. I like the new office space, it is much bigger and people actually have windows. Our last space was in a basement, so can you say Vitamin D deficiency?

IMG_71311

IMG_70861

It was really nice to be around my coworkers again, they are a fun group of people and some of them I’ve known for 10 years now. It was also cool to get to spend time with the new people who joined the company after I left. They didn’t know who I was while everyone else was greeting me with hugs. Some people knew my name from emails that I’ve sent, but I’ve never met them in person so it was good to finally have faces to match the names. I guess next time I’ll have to stay for a month. I’m not kidding.

I didn’t tell a lot of people that I was going to Jersey, not because I was trying to be mean but because I really wanted to spend time with my nieces. The few times I did fly back home, it was on the weekend and I really only spent time with the adults. This time I got to read with them, take naps with them, paint their nails, let them play dress up with my clothes, and take them out (I took them to the Liberty Science Center and let them run around like maniacs). It was really nice for them to see my face and spend time with me for more than a day.

I’m actually looking forward to going back. I was thinking in December and I know it will be cold but it’s something I’ll have to just get over. Last Christmas wasn’t that bad, so I’m hoping this year the winter won’t be so brutal. All that snow is part of the reason I wanted to move south in the first place.

IMG_71391

Dressed up for work

Leave a Reply

