My Sister is turning into my Mother

This week is flying by. I have no idea where my mind has been for the past week and a half, but I really need to get it together and get back on track. My summer class started last Monday, and I didn’t realize it until Thursday. Lorenzo and I both had to pack for a trip: he is going to a military school, and I decided to spend a few weeks at home in New Jersey with family. Since my job is in New York, I don’t have to take any time off.

A typical flight from Atlanta, Georgia to Newark, New Jersey is about 2.5 hours. Because of overcast issues in Jersey, we had to stop at Dulles Airport in the DC/ Virginia area and wait. The total flight time ended up being about 5 hours. So by the time my sister came to pick me up and went back to her place it was around 10-11pm. On Sunday, we got up early and took a bus ride to Ocean City, Maryland for the day. It was there that I realized my sister Morgan is slowing turning into a goofy version of our mother.

Morgan is the only one of my 7 siblings that has a child (I have a step-sister who is about to have her second child though). While we were at the beach, she was constantly saying things to her 2-year old, Jordin, that I distinctly remember our mother saying quite a bit growing up. The only difference is that Morgan will talk more, our mother used to yell… a lot.

She gives life advice: “Don’t be like me, be better than me.” (Used when you’ve done something that you normally tell the child not to do)

She makes nonsensical threats: “Lose my keys, and I’ll lose your ass!” (She gave me a spare key to her place that I lost somewhere inside my purse)

Sometimes she takes it straight from the book: “Why? What do you mean ‘why’? Because I said so, that’s ‘why’? (But I’ll give Morgan credit, she’s usually gives a real explanation the first time, but after that it’s, “because I said so”)

Watermark

Mama Morgan

 

She is officially in the Moms Club. I find it quite hilarious… and kind of creepy at the same time. But my time with them should be fun. I obviously don’t to get to spend much time with them because I live in Georgia, so this will be a good chance for me to have some quality Auntie time. I told myself that whatever the girls wanted I would give them, and that I wouldn’t tell them ‘No.’ My sister said that it would last about 30 seconds, tops. Challenge Accepted.

Girls

Nieces

One thought on “My Sister is turning into my Mother

Leave a Reply

