Three Day Weekends are Okay with Me

I don’t think anyone who works has ever complained about having 3 days off. I’ve been saying for years that 4 day work weeks should be the new norm, but my complaints always fall on deaf ears. But a girl can dream, right? Now for my people who work in the retail industry or who have to work weekends and holidays…I’m sorry guys; this one is not for you, but I feel your pain because I’ve been there. We appreciate you, stay strong.

My original plan for this weekend was to take Lorenzo out for a birthday trip (his birthday was in June, but the thing I wanted to do couldn’t get scheduled until July) but then, I got a call on Friday and had to push it back to the end of the month, which is why I didn’t mention what the trip was. So we had to make some last minute changes. Of course, everything in Florida was booked, so we decided to do a mini stay-cation here in Atlanta and booked a room at Le Meridien in Dunwoody. He booked a package that included a deluxe suite and a $300 gift card towards services at The Woodhouse Day Spa  in Perimeter Mall. The spa is very new to the area, and I didn’t even know it was there, but it is very nice. Lorenzo and I got an 80-minute deep tissue massage. I think it came in right on time since with both have been killing ourselves working out these past few weeks. (Just a tip: if you work out regularly, don’t take a month off and then start again. It sucks.)

Yesterday, we couldn’t peel ourselves off of the couch after our friends canceled their last minute impromptu barbecue. We knew that the pool area in our apartment complex would be crowded because of other parties, so we just stayed in until it was time for dinner. Atlanta had firework celebrations in three different locations: Stone Mountain, Centennial Olympic Park, and Lenox Mall. After dinner, we took a walk and then came back inside and watched the firework show on television.

I wish I’d known about the Peachtree Road Race a little earlier because I would have signed up for it. I’ve completed a 5K earlier this year and wanted to do another race. It will have to be something I’ll put a thumbtack in for next year and maybe find another 5K to run later on in this year.

Short work weeks are always cool, and at the end of this week, I’m traveling back to New Jersey (where I’m from) to work in the office spend time with my family for a few weeks. I’m looking forward to it, but I’m starting to wonder if two weeks is too long?…… hmmmm….

 

IMG_7046

Lorenzo and I on our way to dinner

3 thoughts on “Three Day Weekends are Okay with Me

  1. You should sign up for the Bubble Run. My husband and I are doing that this year. It’s all the way in October. We did the Color Run in May as well. The Zombie Run has also got my eye but the price is just… OMG..

    Like

Leave a Reply

